top of page

Santa Shuffle 2016

The Santa Shuffle for this year happened this weekend. It was so nice to be able to look back and realize that my very first 5 km run had happened just a year ago at this very event. It was "my first" and I will always remember it.



I have to admit that even though we had a big group of us together the event wasn't as fun as 2015. Unfortunately, the organization was not great (or so it seemed) and there just wasn't as much spirit overall...or at least that's how it felt to me. Having said that, our team still raised quite a bit of money to support families at Christmas which is the biggest reason for this event. I, myself, raised $50.



Our team was pretty amazing though. We called ourselves "The Scrooge Stompers" and we had such variety on the team - from more experienced runners to first timers to walkers. And the really cool part is that we all had our personal goals that we all met! The event wasn't officially timed but my unofficial time was around 27 mins and 14 seconds. I was pleasantly surprised to see Jeff finish close behind me. I'm so proud of him and what he's accomplished this last year. I truly believe that it's brought us closer together.



This was my last run of 2016 and I had tears in my eyes when I put my bib number in my running memory book. You see, a little over a year ago I didn't run. In fact, I couldn't run for 30 seconds. I struggled but I wanted to do "just 5 km"...little did I know that I would love running as much as I do. This year, I ran my first 10 km in less than an hour which is quite the accomplishment but I'm not finished. The next logical step is a half marathon and even though I am terrified I know I want to still do it. Maybe 2017 will be the year for it.


I can't stress enough to get outside your comfort zone and push yourself. Do things you never thought you could do. TRY and reach your goals. Sure, you will probably fail the first few times but keep trying!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page