top of page

This Is Halloween 2016

I was so excited for Halloween this year. It was our first Halloween in our house and that meant I would actually be able to hand out some treats. Previous years, I had been living in an apartment building and no one ever showed up. Our community actually had a Facebook page to try and bring trick or treating back to our area. We live about 7 minutes outside city limits so it makes the most sense to keep the local kids in the area rather than driving into the city.



Before the big night we were advised to add a purple pumpkin to our window if we were going to be giving out treats. I made sure my purple pumpkin was up a week before Halloween night so people driving by during the week could see that our house would be handing out treats. It's a lot easier to see the pumpkin earlier in the week and know which houses are planning on giving out treats...I can't imagine trying to see it in the dark.



We also decorated for Halloween. Of course, it is our first year so we didn't have a lot of decorations...especially for the outside since I had been living in an apartment for the last 10 or so years. But we did our best AND we made sure to carve a pumpkin. We went with a puking pumpkin this year!



So if I learned anything about Halloween and trick or treating as a kid I know that we never wanted to stop for just 1 house. We wanted a cluster of houses together for quick candy. Having said that, we were also willing to walk great lengths if we knew a house was giving out AMAZING treat bags. In fact, when I was younger there was a small cluster of houses about a 20-30 minute drive that we went to each year because those treat bags were something else. They were big and they were always full of the good candy that you always hoped for at other houses. These were the last houses we always did on Halloween night. So, of course, being me I decided we were going to be THAT house. Our treat bags included:


2 small bag of Doritos

1 large chocolate bar

1 Kool-aid Jammer

1 ring pop

Halloween pencil

Halloween stickers


Oh! And of course, it wouldn't be Halloween unless I dressed up. I actually convinced Jeff to "dress up" in his skeleton onesie as well. And we played creepy Halloween music all night. I think all the kids enjoyed seeing us dressed up. We ended up with 13 trick or treaters which we have been told is really good for the area AND we got to meet some of our neighbours (which is always nice). The popular costume of 2016 was Scooby-Doo in our area. I'd say we had a pretty successful Halloween. We usually are the ones who dress up and go out with kids trick or treating but it was a nice change to be the ones handing out the treats. I got lots and lots and lots of candy when I was younger and had so many enjoyable Halloween nights...it's now my turn to give back to the younger generation.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page